Supriya Khadka
2 min readAug 13, 2019

I stopped writing

It has been more than a year since I have enthusiastically taken up a notepad and begun scribbling my thoughts. It is not that I don’t think anymore, it is just that I have stopped writing what I feel. I used to irritate people by showing the stuffs that I wrote. I would ask them to read it, even if they were not a bit interested in it and if I saw a tiny bit of sparkling in their eyes while they were reading the things I wrote, I would feel like writing more and asking them to read more of it. I know that I don’t write well in the strict sense of writing. I don’t think much about grammar, even though I correct people everytime I get a chance. I use a lot of commas in my text. I just feel like people cannot read a huge sentence at a time and they should get a break. I have a choice to not write huge sentences, but I cannot help myself. Anywho, the same people now come up to me and say why don’t I write anymore. I ask myself the same thing, why don’t I write anymore? And, an avalanche of thoughts come into my mind. One of the thoughts screams, "Your writing is very raw, read more, and try to write in the same manner as those writers". Another one yells, "Think about some important stuff, and do some research, write proper research articles, you are old enough now, people won’t enjoy reading your thoughts". Another one strikes back, " Leave her alone, let her focus on her assignments. Learning how to code is more important that writing". In the midst of these thoughts, I end up doing nothing. And, this is a very bad situation to be in. I have read fewer books than previous year. I always end up doing my assignments near the deadline. I was learning a new language, and I gave up in the middle. And, I have stopped writing. So, I have thought that I will try thinking little less, and start doing real things that will produce some actual results. I needed a platform to present my rant and I have done it. I am calm now :)